Category Archives: Scrabble

MGi’s $10,000 Prize-Money International Classic Tickles Scrabble Community

Nigeria will play host to top international players from all over the world as organisers of the Mindgames Scrabble International Classic (MISC) have announced a $10,000 top cash prize-money for the main tournament which will take place in Lagos from September 17 to 20 this year.

The MISC is a new tournament which is set to hit the world’s Scrabble firmament and has been generating some excitement among enthusiast.

The tournament comprises three events namely; the Early Bird, Open division and, Premier division while the top prizes are $150, $2,050 and $10,000 respectively.

A statement cited by the MGi Media revealed that interested players will have to register with specific fees to enter for each event.

International players are required to pay a sum of $20, $100 and $200 while local counterparts are expected to pay 5,000 naira,10,000 naira and 15,000 naira to be a part of the tournament’s offerings.

“All international players with WESPA rating of 1500 and above,” according to the organisers, “are eligible to play in the Premier
Division ONLY. The rating threshold for local players will be 1400 rating points on NSF rating system.
Open division players have the right to play up in the top division if they so wish” the statement read.

Forms can be accessed through this link: and registration would close on August 31.

A total of 27 games have been scheduled for the main event which holds at the Edmark D’Podium International Event Centre, Ikeja.

There will also be a Gala Night on the final day after the competition.

Meanwhile, stakeholders have lauded MGI for igniting another spark in the sport which has witnessed a new surge in the organisation of tournaments in the country in recent times.

This belief by all and sundry stemmed from the integrity and quality of trail-blazing competitions the MGI has introduced in mind games with the MindGames Premier Championship (MPC) and MindGames Scrabble Premier League(MSPL)

Children have also been deeply involved with different initiatives being introduced in schools across the country.

They also believed the MISC would be a great opportunity to assert themselves on their home board against top international players.

The MGI currently enjoys the backing of Panseke Radio, FPC Couture, Airpop Foods, Loense Intl. Ltd and Prediction Kings.

Others are: Down D Aisle Events, Pan African Sports, MGT and the Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF)

It has however called for more support through sponsorship in it’s drive to create an international culture in mind games.


Nigeria has reclaimed the team title at the WESPAC World Scrabble Championship in Goa, India.

A team of eleven Scrabble players captained by the African Champion Moses Peter achieved the feat, edging out Malaysia with a mean total 22.36. Nigeria won 214 games, losing 142 over the 3-day event.

Reflecting on the victory, National Coach Tony Ikolo attributed victory to hard work and serious preparation by the team: “For the last few months we had been preparing for the Indian tournament. My players were remarkable sacrificing so much to ensure that we remain the world’s best.”


Meanwhile, Nigel Richards of New Zealand – the greatest Scrabble player of all time – won the singles title to become the world champion again beating Jesse Day of the United States 4-3 in the final match up.

Richards – a multiple world champion in both English and French lexicons – is also the holder of another Scrabble “major”, the coveted King’s Cup that was held in Bangkok, Thailand in July.

He is now the undisputed world champion having taken the two recognised world title events – the MSA World Scrabble Championship in England last year and now the World English Scrabble Players’ Association title.

Jesse Day had led 3-2 in the best of seven final but Richards won the last two games to take the title.

Nigel sealed the win in Goa with a “nine-timer” AVOIDERS that netted him 167 points and an unassailable lead.

Nigeria’s best performance came from 23-year-old Enoch Nwali who finished 5th overall. The other player in the top ten was Ben Quickpen.

2019 Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship Ends With Wellington Jighere Emerging New Champion

The 2019 Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship ended at the weekend in Abuja and with Wellington Jighere of Delta State emerging the new champion.

Jighere shrugged off challenges from defending national champion Moses Peter of Akwa Ibom State and two time African champion Dennis Ikekeregor, also from Delta State who finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

All three players recorded 19 wins from 24 games but Jighere edged them out on superior cumulative.

Expressing delight over his victory, the University of Benin graduate said he can now heave a sigh of relief winning the Championship that had long eluded him.

“I am delighted that the National Championship has finally been won by me. I was seen by some people as an outstanding international player who could not do same domestically. Now, my victory in the National Championship has finally changed that notion,” he remarked gleefully.

2019 Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Champion Wellington Jigheren (L)

Jighere received a cash prize of N200,000 and was decorated with the traditional Green Jacket.

President of Nigeria Scrabble Federation, Gora Suleiman, said lack of fund almost made it impossible for the competition to hold. He however, expressed the hope that things would change for the better with the coming of the new Minister of Sports, Sunday Dare.

At the end of the championship, Delta State emerged top beating closest rivals Bayelsa and Oyo. A total of 44 players took part in the three-day event held at the VIP Lounge of the Moshood Abiola Stadium, Abuja.

Akeem Busari