Weikert Elected As ITTF President

Thomas WEIKERT (GER) has been elected as the ITTF President by the ITTF Annual General Meeting (AGM) today in Dusseldorf, Germany.

The incumbent President WEIKERT from Germany defeated Belgium’s Jean-Michel SAIVE 118 votes to 90 to extend his time as ITTF President for another four years.

Thomas WEIKERT, who was appointed President in 2014 when then President Adham SHARARA stepped down stated: “I would like to thank my team for all the support they have given me since becoming President. Thank you to all the National Associations for their confidence in me to continue as President. I promise to keep giving my best to push the sport to new heights and achieve all my goals stated in my manifesto.”

ITTF President Thomas Weikert wins ITTF Presidential election over Belgium’s Jean-Michel Saive, table tennis

The 55-year-old German will be joined on the ITTF Executive Committee by:
Shi Zhihao (CHN)
Masahiro Maehara (JPN)
Petra Sorling (SWE)
Nestor TENCA
Bruce Burton (CAN)

Further decisions that were made at the AGM will be released shortly.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s