Seeds Announced For 2017 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group Play-Offs

The ITF has announced the seeds for the Draw for the 2017 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group play-offs. The Draw will take place on Tuesday 11 April at the ITF offices in London at 10:00 local time (09:00 GMT). The seeds are based on the new ITF Davis Cup Nations Ranking of 10 April:

The eight seeded nations in the World Group play-offs are:

Argentina (1)
Croatia (2)
Switzerland (3)
Czech Republic (4)
Germany (5)
Japan (6)
Russia (7)
Canada (8)

Each of the seeds will be drawn against one of the following unseeded nations:


The 2017 World Group play-offs will take place alongside the World Group semifinals on 15-17 September. The eight winning nations will contest the 2018 World Group, while the eight losing nations will contest their respective Zone Group I events in 2018.

The line-up for the World Group play-offs was confirmed when Belarus, Brazil, Colombia, India, Kazakhstan, Netherlands and Portugal won their Zone Group I second round ties on 7-9 April. Hungary had already assured its place in the World Group play-offs by winning its Zone Group I second round tie on 3-5 February. The eight nations joined the losers from the 2017 World Group first round ties.