Malaysia Cricket Association Wins Top Prize At ICC Development Programme Awards 2016

Game changers in the developing cricket world have been celebrated today through the ICC Development Programme Awards 2016; with the Malaysian Cricket Association taking the top prize.

Malaysia has been awarded the Gray-Nicolls Best Overall Development Programme for its widespread success in 2016 across its operations. From successfully hosting important competitive cricket fixtures, to the progress of the national women’s team. Coach education has significantly improved with Level 1, 2 and 3 coaching courses being delivered at state and national level.

Nick Wilton, Gray-Nicolls Brand Manager is excited to support this award: “Gray-Nicolls very existence is reliant upon the continued growth of cricket. We are delighted to be able to support the ICC with its development of the game and reward the excellent work that is inspiring the next generation of player. We hope the £5000 worth of gifted equipment will enhance Malaysia’s development programme even further and help the future of the game.”

The Women’s Cricket Award has been won by Pauline Njeru from Cricket Kenya for her instrumental work in setting up a National Ladies Championship. She has also developed a strong link between the junior system and universities, which allows females in Kenya to access a clear pathway for competitive cricket.

Cricket Scotland’s Ammar Ashraf has been awarded Volunteer of the Year for his dedication to East Renfrewshire Cricket Club, where he undertakes several roles including development officer, coach, fundraiser and groundsman.

The Lifetime Service Award has gone to Rob Kemming from the Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond. His dedication to Dutch cricket spans a number of decades where he has served as a Board member, set-up a number of umpiring programs and was team manager of the national team at all levels.

The Uganda Cricket Association partnered with Mehta Co. (SCOUL) to use cricket as a vehicle to communicate vital messages to young people on World Hearts Day. Awarded the Spirit of Cricket Award, free health checks and counselling were offered to over 500 participants and members of the community; alongside a day of cricket at the Mehta Cricket Ground.

The Image of the Year has been awarded to Cricket Brazil. The image is of two Cricket Brazil development officers who are the first from their community to attend higher education, after gaining access to university thanks to their work through cricket. In addition, they were invited to participate in the Olympic Torch relay for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

ICC’s Head of Global Development, William Glenwright believes it is important to recognise the work of the Member nations: “Our Members are imperative in the developing and sustainable growth of cricket across the world. The ICC Development Programme Awards provide the opportunity to celebrate and recognise the excellent work which is being produced by Members to get more people involved in all aspects of cricket.”

Ex-England captain and Gray-Nicolls ambassador Alastair Cook is delighted to see the support provided to cricket’s global development. “I have trusted Gray-Nicolls throughout my international career. It’s fantastic they are linking in with ICC to support and recognise the incredible work, providing the opportunity for the next generation to enjoy the game of cricket as much as I have.”

The ICC Development Programme Award winners and ICC winning grants are as follows:

• Gray-Nicolls Best Overall Cricket Development Programme ($5,000) and £5000 worth of equipment supplied by Gray-Nicolls
• Lifetime Service Award ($2,000)
• Volunteer of the Year ($2,000)
• Spirit of Cricket ($2,000)
• Women’s Cricket Award ($2,000)
• Image of the Year ($2,000)