Ahly Beat Etoile To Claim 12th African Club Volleyball Title

2017 Men’s African Club Volleyball Championship- Final

Ahly Egypt have claimed the African Club Championship trophy following their victory over Tunisia’s Etoile du Sahel 3-1 (20-25, 25-18, 25-20, 25-18) in the competition’s final held at Taraji Hall in Tunis, Tunisia on Monday.

Ahly won their 12th African title after 1980, 1983, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2011, 2015 to improve their record to 6 titles more than Sfax, the second team with the highest number of wins. Etoile kept their trophies and two titles in 2001 and 2002 but failed to add the third this term.

After the match CAVB President Dr Amr Elwani honoured the winners with the gold medals and the losers with the silver, While Algerian Bourj Bouaririj won the bronze medals.

Bourj Bouaririj claimed the bronze medal after they flew past Libya’s Swehly 3-0 (25-21, 25-19, 25-20) at Taraji Hall in the third place match.

Organisers Esperance of Tunisia claimed the 5th position beating Kenya Prisons 3-0 (25-19, 25-18, 25-19), while Libya’s newcomers Assarya captured the 7th place in their first ever participation at the African Club Championship after they overcame Cameroon’s FAP 3-0 (25-20, 25-18, 25-14).

Final and Bronze medal
: Ahly (Egypt) v Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) 3-1 (20-25, 25-18, 25-20, 25-18).
Bronze Medal: Bourj Bouaririj (Algeria) v Swehly (Libya) 3-0 (25-21, 25-19, 25-20).
Ranking 5-8
5-6 places: Esperance (Tunisia) v Prisons (Kenya) 3-0 (25-19, 25-18, 25-19).
7-8 places: Assarya (Libya) v FAP (Cameroon) 3-0 (25-20, 25-18, 25-14).

Final Ranking
1. Ahly (Egypt)

2. Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)
3. Bourj Bouaririj (Algeria)
4. Swehly (Libya)
5. Esperance (Tunisia)
6. Prisons (Kenya)
7. Assarya (Libya)
8. FAP (Cameroon)
9. Ahly Beni Ghazi (Libya)
10. Bafia (Cameroon)
11. University of Kibungo (Rwanda)
12. Alnahda (Sudan)
13. Espoir (RD Congo)
14. Finances (Benin)
15. Douanes (Burkina)
16. Police (Benin)
17. Police (Botswana)

Individual Awards
Best Setter: Marouen Mrabet (Etoile- Tunisia)
Best Receiver: Mohamed Abdelmoneim (Ahly- Egypt)
Best Libero: Ali Moustafa (Swehly- Libya)
Best Blocker: Abdelhalim Abou (Ahly- Egypt)
Best Server: Hamza Ngga (Etoile- Tunisia)
Best spiker: Bilal Soualem (Bourj- Algeria)
MVP: Ahmed Kotb (Ahly- Egypt)